Slice of Cheese

Coastal Powers Clean Up At Awards Night

Solstice Photography
Having claimed the league titles earlier in the day, Devonport and Ulverstone were the big winners at the 2018 Mitsubishi Motors NPL/WSL awards night, taking home the majority of the silverware on offer. 
Brayden Mann absolutely romped home to the Mitsubishi Medal, smashing the record for most votes in an NPL Season, by polling 40 votes, over double that of South Hobart’s Renato De Vecchi Marins in second place! After 12 rounds, a three way battle for the medal seemed to be emerging with Mann on 20 votes, leading from Tyler Fischer on 17 and De Vecchi on 16. The other two stopped polling though, and Mann went on an extraordinary run, polling 4 best on grounds and 3 x 2 vote performances in the 7 rounds from Rounds 12-18 to charge to a dominant victory. 
Mann was pipped at the post in the players MVP award though, Michael Holden edging out his Strikers teammate, who finished in second place. Launceston City’s international duo of Tyler Fischer and Niko Giantsopoulos came in at third and fourth place with Olympia’s centre back Lucas Hill completing the top five.  

The Hon. Jacquie Petrusma hands the Player’s MVP to Michael Holden- Solstice Photography

In the Women’s Super League, Georgia Foote claimed the Optus Medal for 2018, beating out her sister, Lucy in what was a three way race between Ulverstone players, with Jazmin Gorrie having held the lead at multiple breaks throughout the evening. But by the final day it was down to the Foote sisters, with just 1 vote separating the pair prior to their game with Kingborough. Lucy got the 1 vote, to extend her lead to 2, but the best on ground went to Georgia, allowing her to claim the prize. 
It mirrored the battle between the two in the Super League Player’s MVP Award, with Lucy taking it out ahead of Georgia in second place. Kingborough’s young gun Laura Davis was in third place, with Jazmin Gorrie and Clarence’s goalkeeper Amelia Vanderniet completing the top five.

The Hon. Jacquie Petrusma with WSL Player’s MVP, Lucy Foote- Solstice Photography

In other major awards, Olympia Warriors attacker Joffrey Nkoso took out the Rising Star Award as the best young player to have established himself in the league in 2018 as voted by the coachesWhilst they opted to reward the champions in the Coach of the year award, with Chris Gallo and Mal Gorrie/Lucy Foote taking out the awards.

New FFT CEO, Matt Bulkeley with Rising Star- Joffrey Nkoso

Other awards that were predetermined saw more hardware headed to the coast, Jazmin Gorrie and Brayden Mann both taking out the Golden Boot awards, and setting new records for single season scoring in the process. Whilst the Golden Glove award for most clean sheets went the way of Devonport’s Nathan Pitchford and Ulverstone’s Georgia Anderson. 

The referee of the year awards, voted on by the coaches and referee technical committee went the way of Stratos PLomaritis for the NPL, and Jonno Calcraft in the WSL.  

The goal of the year awards, decided by a popular vote, were claimed by Lucy Johnson and Noah Mies.

The Office National Hobart, NPL Referee of the year award- Solstice Photography

The Pace Financial Services, WSL Referee of the Year Award- Solstice Photography

Award Winners
2018 Mitsubishi Medal
Brayden Mann
2018 WSL Optus Medal
Georgia Foote
2018 NPL Golden Boot
Brayden Mann
2018 WSL Golden Boot
Jazmin Gorrie
2018 NPL Referee of the Year
Stratos Plomaritis
2018 WSL Referee of the Year
Jonno Calcraft
2018 NPL Rising Star
Joffrey Nkoso
2018 NPL Goal of the Year
Noah Mies
2018 WSL Goal of the Year
Lucy Johnson
2018 NPL Golden Glove
Nathan Pitchford
2018 WSL Golden Glove
Georgia Anderson
2018 NPL Coach of the Year
Chris Gallo
2018 WSL Coach of the Year
Mal Gorrie  & Lucy Foote
2018 NPL Player’s MVP Award
Michael Holden
2018 WSL Player’s MVP Award
Lucy Foote

Final Leaderboards

Mitsubishi Medal

40 Brayden Mann
19 Renato De Vecchi Marins
18 Kobe Kemp
17 Tyler Fischer
16 Harry Thannhauser
16 Lucas Hill
15 Joel Stone
14 Jack Turner
13 Harry Thannhauser
12 Nick Lanau-Atkinson
12 Jakub Sklenar
12 Daniel Syson
11 Noah Mies
11 Joffrey Nkoso
10 Nick Morton

Optus Medal

29 Georgia Foote
28 Lucy Foote
23 Jazmin Gorrie
18 Adelyn Ayton
17 Beth Bygrave
15 Laura Davis
13 Georgia Burt
11 Georgie Carter
11 Melissa Harrison
11 Phoebe Djakic
11 Georgia Burley
10 Mich Tadros
10 Olivia Gardner

Golden Glove Winner,Georgia Anderson- Solstice Photography

Golden Boot winner Jazmin Gorrie- Solstice Photography

Golden Glove Winner, Nathan – Solstice Photography