Slice of Cheese

Mann Crowned Walter Pless Media Award Winner

Brayden Mann has continued his dominance of the 2018 awards season, adding to his Mitsubishi Medal and Golden Boot awards by picking up the 2018 Walter Pless Media Award.

The award was presented to Mann in front of the Strikers faithful at the Valley Road club rooms following the Strikers Elimination final defeat at the hands of Heidelberg on Saturday night.

The award is voted on by members of the media, Slice of Cheese reporters and Walter Pless himself, with each voter given a top 10 ballot to submit.

Just as was the case in the Mitsubishi Medal, where he doubled the next best poller, it was a rout. Mann was the unanimous top pick, earning 10 votes from each voter to poll a perfect 50 votes.

The field was largely split after him, with a tight battle for second place ending in a tie for second between the Players MVP Michael Holden and Launceston City’s American striker Tyler Fischer.

Devonport were unsurprisingly well represented in the top ten, with four other players finishing in the top 10 highest vote tallies after their title winning season.

Final Standings

1st- 50 votes, Brayden Mann (Devonport)

2nd- 29 votes, Michael Holden (Devonport), Tyler Fischer (Launceston City)

4th- 23 votes, Guillermo Lazcano (Devonport)

5th- 22 votes, Niko Giantsopoulos (Launceston City)

6th- 21 votes, Mathew Sanders (Hobart Zebras)

7th- 17 votes, Joel Stone (Devonport)

8th- 14 votes, Jordan Muller (Hobart Zebras), Lucas Hill (Olympia)

10th- 12 votes, Beau Blizzard (Devonport), Timothy Baker (Kingborough), Connor Schmidt (South Hobart)

FFT Media and Communications Coordinator, Everton tragic, long form journalism devotee, Andrea Pirlo enthusiast and admirer of the parked bus.