Slice of Cheese

Neilson and Heazlewood Claim Top Northern Honours

Solstice Photography

Taylor Neilson and Emily Heazlewood walked away with the highest honours from the Northern Awards night, as they took out the Veto Northern Championship Best and Fairest awards.

In the George Dale Medal camp, Riverside’s captain, Neilson was rewarded for his stellar season that powered the club to the league title. It was a three vote performance from Neilson on the final day that sealed his medal victory by a single vote. He edged out a man he came up against in the title deciding game, Devonport’s Golden Boot winner Connor Lizotte, who didn’t poll in the final game to finish 1 vote back from Neilson on 26 votes.

In the Women’s count, it was back to back Best and Fairest Medals for Launceston United’s prodigiously talented 17 year old Emily Heazlewood. The former Mini Matilda again compiling a dominant year to win by 6 votes from second placed Panayiota Antypas of Riverside, another youngster who found herself dominating senior football at just 16 years. Heazlewood also took out the Golden Boot award.

The Coach of the Year awards went to the coaches of the two champion sides, in Rod Fulton for his work with the Northern Rangers Women’s side and Lynden Prince for his title triumph with Riverside.

There was more silverware on offer for Riverside in the Championship 1, with Rhys Kinslow presented with the Golden Boot, but it was Winston Ilyas-Bisset of Somerset who claimed the Best and Fairest award by 2 votes.

The Referee awards went the way of Nathan Reid for the Northern Referee of the Year, whilst Ellie Mathews claimed the Young Referee of the Year award.

The evening began with a North v North West representative game from the best players in the Under 18 competition, as the Northern side struck twice late to defeat the North West 2-1.¬†Launceston City’s Hayden Simeoni took out the MVP award from the game whilst his teammate Maxwell Bywaters would go on to claim the Best and Fairest award for the Under 18 league, edging out Devonport’s Golden Boot winner Addison Tu, by a single vote.

Images from Solstice Photography

Final Vote Counts

Northern Under 18’sVotes
Maxwell Bywaters (Launceston City)18
Addison Tu (Devonport)17
Kane De Haan (Riverside)17
Vincent Wolfhagen (Nth Rangers)15
Rhys Mchugh (Devonport)14
Christian Byard (Burnie)13
Nicholas Holona (Burnie)12
Charles Bidwell (Devonport)12
Mathew Owens (Launceston City)11
Caleb Purton (Somerset)11
Hayden Simeoni (Launceston City)10
Men’s Northern Championship
Taylor Neilson (Riverside)26
Connor Lizotte (Devonport)25
Trent Mitchell (Riverside)19
Stuart Batt (Somerset)15
Ryan Mccarragher (Riverside)14
Jesse Dance (Devonport)13
Astyn Johnson (Somerset)12
Timothy Read (Ulverstone)12
Ben Van Est (Laun United)12
Mackenzie Hancox (Launceston City)12
Daniel Sparshott (Northern Rangers)12
Women’s Northern Championship
Emily Heazlewood (Launceston United)31
Panaylota Antypas (Riverside)25
Annabelle Wylie (Somerset)19
Chelsea Dolbell (Devonport)19
Moana Chamberlain (Northern Rangers)15
Febey Pearce (Northern Rangers)14
Charlotte Rand (Launceston Utd)12
Madison Gilpin (Riverside)10
Maddison Bemes (Northern Rangers)10
Annalise Noble (Somerset)10
Men’s Championship 1
Winston Ilyas-Bissett (Somerset)19
Gabriel Tams (Nth Rangers)17
Jason Krushka (Launceston United)15
Simon Wagner (Launceston Utd)14
Ethan Fischer (Devonport)13
William Neilson (Riverside)13
Rhys Kinslow (Riverside)13
Joshua Taylor (Riverside)11
Michael Frost (Launceston City)9
Kurtis Franklin (Launceston United)9