Slice of

Top honours awarded for season 2023

Football Tasmania celebrated its annual ‘night of nights’ yesterday (Saturday, 9 September) at the Crowne Plaza in Hobart, awarding its highest honours for the MyState Bank Women’s Super League and the McDonald’s® National Premier Leagues and Under 21s for season 2023. 

The top honours for Best and Fairest went to Devonport City Strikers’ Jazmin White, and South Hobart’s Daniel Arnaiz (under 21s) and Nicholas Morton (McDonald’s NPL). Full list of award recipients below. 

Outgoing Football Tasmania CEO Matt Bulkeley, who finishes in post on 14 September, congratulated all players and award winners.  

“Committing to a team in our top men’s and women’s leagues is no small undertaking for our players, most of whom also have work, study and family commitments, and we know they give their all week in and week out, throughout the season,” he said. 

“Last night was an opportunity for these three leagues to come together, along with special guests and friends, to celebrate another big season and to acknowledge the achievements of our standout players and teams, along with everyone who made the season possible. 

“This includes our major partners, MyState Bank and McDonald’s; club presidents and committees; and our many dedicated coaches, referees and volunteers.”  

While the regular season has concluded, Football Tasmania is holding a final series for the first time in many years, beginning next weekend. More information about the finals is available here: 

Congratulations to our 2023 winners:


B&F Nicholas Morton- South Hobart
Golden Boot Roberto Fernandez Garrido – Devonport Strikers
Golden Glove Jackson Gardner- Glenorchy Knights
Coach of the Year James Sherman- Glenorchy Knights
Players’ Player Roberto Fernandez Garrido- Devonport Strikers
Rising Star Rowan Pitt- Glenorchy Knights
Referee of the Year Brenton Kopra
Walter Pless Media Award Roberto Fernandez Garrido- Devonport Strikers
NPL 21s
B&F Daniel Arnaiz- South Hobart
Golden Boot Daniel Arnaiz- South Hobart
Golden Glove Noah Curtis – Launceston City
Coach of the Year Geoff Brown- South Hobart
Players’ Player Daniel Arnaiz- South Hobart
Referee of the Year (Sean Collins) Joshua Berry
B&F Jazmin White- Devonport Strikers
Golden Boot Jazmin White- Devonport Strikers
Golden Glove Jenna Farrow- South Hobart
Coach of the Year Karen Wills- Taroona
Players’ Player Pishon Choi- South Hobart
Rising Star Graciella Baez- Clarence Zebras
Referee of the Year Elliana Beeston
Media Award Pishon Choi- South Hobart